+2
Fixed

FTP prompt should not come up when uploading/downloading linked file

Andrew M. Smith 9 years ago updated by Alexander Blach (Developer) 8 years ago 6 2 duplicates
When I download a file from an FTP server, and then click on "Upload This File" or "Download Latest," it prompts me whether I want to override the file. Now, when I click one of those buttons, I will always want it to override the file, so the prompt shouldn't come up.
Great app, though! I love it.

Answer

Answer
Fixed
Implemented for Textastic 3.0:

If you quickly upload or download a file, there's a new "Always" button in addition to "Yes" and "No".

You can set this separately for upload and download.

You can re-enable the overwrite prompt in the settings screen.

Duplicates 2

I thought a lot about this when implementing the quick upload feature.

In my opionion the override alert should stay:
The uploading option only appears if you are working with a file downloaded from a FTP or Dropbox server. If you didn't, the first option will be to mail the file.

So, if you accidentally tapped on the upload action, this is your last change to prevent overwriting a remote file. This can be a destructive process on a live web server, so Textastic warns the user.
That's true...but it does mean an extra tap every time I want to update/upload the file. Could you add a setting for this?
+1
I could add a third button to the alert: "Don't ask again" which would disable this message if you do a quick upload in the future.
That sounds good to me.
I would like to second the request to add an option to silently upload and download files. I find the popup warning quite unnecessary and annoying when one upload or download files frequently. This option can be set in the setup window, or even better is per-file option, that is, when a up or download is requested for a particular file the first time, the warning pops up and gives one an option to disable it in the future .

I don't want to disable it globally because it can be a destructive action possibly overwriting a file you don't want to overwrite on a live server.


But, disabling it on a file-by-file or connection basis sounds like a good idea!

Answer
Fixed
Implemented for Textastic 3.0:

If you quickly upload or download a file, there's a new "Always" button in addition to "Yes" and "No".

You can set this separately for upload and download.

You can re-enable the overwrite prompt in the settings screen.